Q: I have a question about the Laws of Magic.
A: There probably isn't a correct answer. Talk to your group and come up with something that makes you all happy.

Q: How do Catches work?
A: If a source of damage satisfies the condition of your Catch, then your Toughness Powers do nothing against it. You have no armour against it, your extra stress boxes are ignored, and you heal any injuries inflicted by it the way a mortal would.

Q: Why is cold iron a +3 Catch and not a +4 Catch in Our World?
A: There are two common answers to this question. The first is that Evil Hat screwed up when writing the book. The second is that discovering that a given creature is a faerie and therefore that cold iron hurts them requires research.

Q: Why is the White Court Vampire Catch worth 0 Refresh?
A: Maybe because True emotions are super rare and very difficult to weaponize. Maybe because Evil Hat screwed up.

Q: If I want to use touch-range Incite Emotion against an unwilling target, do I need to roll to touch them?
A: Maybe. If you want to require a roll to touch but don't want to roll twice, you can just let people use Athletics to defend against touch-range Incite Emotion.

Q: Does Incite Emotion apply its +2 bonus to attacks and blocks or just to maneuvers?
A: Maybe. The most common opinion is that it applies to maneuvers and blocks but not to attacks, but there's no consensus.

Q: Does taking hunger stress from Feeding Dependency cause you to lose Powers if it doesn't exceed your stress track?
A: Maybe. The book seems to indicate that it does, but not everybody thinks that that makes sense.

Q: How do spells that grant Powers work?
A: There are two steps. First, someone needs to cast a spell with a complexity sufficient to justify granting Powers. Exactly what complexity is sufficient is not entirely clear, but (complexity needed to take target out) + (Refresh cost of granted Powers) is a common interpretation. Then the target must spend Fate Points equal to the Refresh cost of the Powers to get the Powers temporarily, as dictated by the Temporary Powers rules. There's a pretty convincing argument that says that they can use Aspect tags generated by the ritual in place of Fate Points, but the book is somewhat ambiguous so it's not totally conclusive.

Q: How do spells that boost Skills work?
A: They either generate a bunch of taggable Aspects that the target can use to boost their Skill or they replace the target's Skill with their power for a single roll.

Q: What's up with the example spells in Your Story?
A: They don't always follow the rules of the game. Take them with a grain of salt.

Q: Can evocations inflict mental stress?
A: Maybe. The rules are unclear. It's pretty widely agreed that mental evocation attacks are overpowered, but that doesn't necessarily mean they're impossible.

Q: How do you calculate the strength of an enchanted item?
A: Lore + Specializations + Foci + extra item slots invested in boosting item strength - points of strength sacrificed in order to add extra uses to item. If the item is a potion, then you can also invoke an Aspect for +2 to the potion''s strength. Bear in mind that Lore x2 is the maximum possible strength for an item under normal circumstances.

Q: How do you move opponents around in combat?
A: You grapple them and then you take a supplemental action to move them a zone. You can also invoke an Aspect to make them move, but the way that works is entirely up to the GM. Some groups will let you move someone with magic at a cost of 1 shift/zone moved, other groups won't.

Q: If I have a Recovery Power, can I use it to recover quickly from consequences I took to help with ritual spellcasting?
A: By the book, yes. Your GM will probably not be very happy with you, though, and they are well within their rights to disallow your shenanigans.

Q: How do you represent a summoned creature mechanically?
A: The GM looks at the effect you're trying to create with the summoning spell and assigns a complexity based on that. There are some homebrew summoning rules available on this wiki, which you should feel free to use if your group approves.

Q: How do you represent a companion, pet, or minion mechanically?
A: There are multiple ways. One is to just take an Aspect and Invoke or Compel it when necessary. Another is to model your companion as a stunt or an Item of Power. Another is to use a set of homebrew companion rules to give you a second character that helps you out.

Q: If I have a moderate physical consequence, can I take a moderate mental consequence?
A: No. You have one set of consequences and all of your stress tracks use that one set.

Q: Can a Stunt provide a +2 bonus to social or mental attacks?
A: Maybe. The rules say no, but the example stunts say yes.

Q: Can Stunts affect supernatural Powers?
A: Maybe. Depends on the group.

Q: Who do thresholds affect?
A: It's not totally clear. Black Court Vampires and most spirits can't cross them at all, most other supernaturals get weaker if they cross them. Beyond that it's a bit hard to say.

Q: How do magic circles work?
A: There are no definite rules, so work something out with your group.

Q: Can a Pure Mortal have an Item of Power?
A: Sort of. A mortal who picks up an Item of Power is not mechanically a Pure Mortal any more, and they lose their Refresh bonus. But they're still narratively mortal.